Share Button

In case anyone cares, the previous winners and runners up of the Olympics tennis are: <br /><br />1988 <br />winner: Miloslav Mecir (TCH) runner up: Timothy Mayotte (USA) <br />winner: Steffi Graf (FRG) runner up: Gabriela Sabatini (ARG) <br /><br />1992 <br />winner: Marc Rosset (SUI) runner up: Jordi Arrese (ESP) <br />winner: Jennifer Capriati (USA) runner up: Steffi Graf (GER) <br /><br />1996 <br />winner: Andre Agassi (USA) runner up: Sergi Bruguera (ESP) <br />winner: Lindsay Davenport (USA) runner up: Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario (ESP) <br /><br />2000 <br />winner: Yevgeny Kafelnikov (RUS) runner up: Tommy Haas (GER) <br />winner: Venus Williams (USA) runner up: Elena Dementieva (RUS) <br /><br />Today Serena W has pulled out – bit of a blow, given 2 days ago Capriati pulled out. It is a pity – she could have won the title 12 years after winning as a teenager. Actually, the women winners have a more impressive look than the mens, given that Rosset, Arrese, Mecir and Mayotte never won a slam. But the last 2 mens events have a better pedigree, with 3 out of 4 slam winners (plus Haas is no slouch).